Information for Prospective CMC Students

JJ. Pitney

The CMC Government Department

Departmental Facebook Page

A Gov 20 syllabus

"The Tocqueville Fraud"

Congress Simulation 2018

A Very Small Sample of Some Things That Our Alumni Are Doing

Some serve in politics, government, and policy analysis:.

Hannah Hummelberg `16 --special assistant, chief of staff, Dept. of Homeland Security

Laura Epstein  `14 -- press secretary for Senator Maggie Hassan

Macie Leach `13 -- policy assistant, US Department of Commerce

Alyssa Roberts `13 -- communications advisor, Colorado Democrats

Austan Mogharabi `07 -- policy advisor, USAID

Byron Koay, `06 -- Chief Operating Officer, America Rising

Jessica Schultz Floyd `05 --Managing Director, Campaigns, for the Hub Project.

Rebecca Hermanowicz `03 -- ethics attorney, Office of General Counsel, Commerce Department

Richard Johnson `01 -- Senior Director for Fuel Cycle & Verification, Nuclear Threat Initiative

Ethan Jones `00 -- Chief Consultant, California State Assembly Elections & Redistricting Committee

Archana Sahgal `99 -- senior policy advisor, Democracy Alliance
Chase Huntley `98 -- Senior policy strategist, The Wilderness Society
Elizabeth Wydra `98 -- President, Constitutional Accountability Center
Scott Ochoa, `93 -- City Manager, Ontario, California
Eric Figueroa `92 -- City Manager, Martinez, California
Susanna Pineda `83 -- Judge, Superior Court in Maricopa County, Arizona
Larry E. André, Jr. `83 -- US Ambassador to Djibouti 
Suzanne H. Segal `82 -- magistrate judge, US Central District of CA
Susan L. Greenberg `81 --  judge, San Mateo County Superior court
Deitrich Sims `79 -- immigration judge, Dallas

Father Patrick Conroy, S.J., `72, Chaplain, US House of Representatives


Some enter academia:


Michelle Kahn `12 -- assistant professor of history, U of Richmond

Ian Johnson `09 -- assistant professor of military history, Notre Dame

Paul Snell `08 -- assistant professor, Pacific University

J. Andrew Sinclair `08 -- assistant professor, Claremont McKenna College

Emily Pears `06 -- assistant professor, Claremont McKenna College

Matthew Grossmann `01 -- professor, Michigan State U 

H. Abbie Erler, `00 -- associate professor, Kenyon College

Andrew Orr `99 -- associate professor, Kansas State University

Zachary Courser `99 -- research director, Dreier Roundtable, CMC

Matthew Schmidt, `98 -- associate professor, University of New Haven

Kathryn Pearson `93 -- associate professor, University of Minnesota

Vincent Phillip Muñoz  `93 -- associate professor, Notre Dame

Darren Schreiber `92 -- senior lecturer, University of Exeter

Amy Black `91 -- professor, Wheaton College

R.J. Pestritto `90 -- Dean, Grad School of Statesmanship, Hillsdale College

Richard Fox `89 -- professor, Loyola Marymount University

Lucas Morel `87 -- professor, Washington & Lee University

Matthew Spalding `86 -- dean of educ. programs, Hillsdale in DC

John Ray `79 -- associate professor, Xavier University

Ben Smith `72 -- associate professor, University of Florida

Some go into journalism: 

Caroline Mimbs Nyce `13 -- assistant editor, The Atlantic

Rachel Brody `12 -- senior editor, The Appeal

Tina Nguyen `11 -- reporter, Politico

Michael Wilner `11 -- White House corrspondent, McClatchy Newspapers

Elise Viebeck, `10 -- enterprise & investigations reporter, Washington Post

Sahil Kapur `09 -- reporter, NBC 

Helena Bottemiller Evich `09 -- reporter, Politico -- see BBC interview and profile in USA Today

Cameron Joseph `08 --senior political reporter, Vice News

Alex Griffing `08 -- Director of Digital Outreach at Haaretz English edition.

Lindsay Claiborn `05 -- real time video desk editor, McClatchy

David Enrich `01 -- financial editor, BizDay, New York Times

Lori Kozlowski, `00, writer, Forbes

Steve Grove, `00  -- director, Google News Lab

Lisa Kubota `98 -- anchor, reporter, Hawaii News Now, KGMB9, Honolulu

Michael Arrington `92 -- founder, TechCrunch

Michael Shear `90 -- White House Correspondent, New York Times

Henry Olsen `83 -- columnist, Washington Post

Some are candidates or elected officeholders:

Bhavin Jindal `17 -- council member, Loma Linda

Christopher Lopez `08 -- Monterey County supervisor

Scot Matayoshi `06 -- member, Hawaii House of Representatives

Candace Valenzuela `06 -- candidate for US House, TX 24
Adam Rush `03 -- council member, Eastvale, California

Tyler Olson `98 -- council member, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Jake Zimmerman `96 -- St. Louis Co. Assessor, candidate for County Executive

Steve Bullock `88  Governor of Montana, U.S. Senate candidate (campaign site)

Mike Feuer `80 -- Los Angeles City Attorney (campaign site)

Benjamin Cruz `72 -- Public Auditor, Guam


Updated 12 July 2020

Return to homepage